Tuesday, February 13, 2007


Tattvabodha - 19

Hari Aum

Prostrations to Guru. Prostrations to All.

Vijnaanamayaha kaha?
What is Vignaanamaya kosaha?
BhuddhiJnanaendriyapanchakam milithva yo bhavathi sa Vignaamaya kosaha
The intellect along with the five organs of perception is called the Vignaanamaya kosaha

Anandamayaha kaha?
What is anandamaya kosa?
Evameva kaaranashareerabhothaavidyastham malinasatvam
Priyaadhivrittisahitham sat Anandamayaha kosaha
Established in Avidya or ignorance, which is of the form of the causal body, of impure nature united with the vrittis such as priya (priya, moda and pramoda)

These are the five sheaths.

The subtle body has seventeen parts which include 5 organs of perception, 5 organs of action, 5 vital air, mind and intellect. The intellect which is the deciding faculty whereas mind is of the nature of doubts. The identification of Self with the intellect along with the 5 organs of perception constitute the Vijnaanamaya kosa.

Ignorance forms the causal body of the Self and this causal body constitute the Ananadamaya kosa. When a person in deep sleep one experiences only Bliss. There are three types of happiness, which are Priya, moda and pramoda. Priya is the type of happiness which one gets when he sees an object he likes, moda is the happiness which one gets when possesses the object and pramoda is the happiness which one gets when he enjoys the objects which he is possessing and the anandamaya kosa is associated with these three states of mind or vrittis.

Thus are the 5 sheaths or pancha kosas. They only seem to cover the Self because of ignorance but never really covered. In the next sloka shankara explains how Self is different from these five sheaths, which we will learn tomorrow.

Prostrations to All.

Hari Aum


Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?