Tuesday, February 13, 2007


Tattvabodha - 18

Hari Aum

Prostrations to Guru. Prostrations to All.

Praanamayaha kaha?
What is Praanamaya kosa?
Praanaadhyaaha Panchavaayavaha Vaagaadheendryapanchakam praanamaya koshaha
The pancha prana such as prana etc (prana, apana, vyana, udhana, samaana) together with the five organs of action such as speech etc (speech, hands, legs, anus, and genital organs) forms the Praanamaya kosa

Manomayaha kosaha kaha?
What is mano maya kosa?
Manashcha Jnaanendriyapanchakam milithva yo bhavathi sa manomayaha kosaha
The mind along with the five organs of perception form the manomaya kosa

The Self seems to be enclosed by the five sheaths or pancha kosas because of ignorance. The first sheath is the food sheath which correspond to the gross body. The next sheath is pranamaya kosa. This constitute the vital air or prana along with the five organs of action (Speech, hands, legs, anus and genital organs). The vital air can be divided into 5 based on their functions, they are
1. Prana: responsible for respiration - the upper part of the body
2. Apana: reponsible for excretion - the lower part of the body
3. Vyana: responsible for circulation - throughout the body
4. Samana: responsible for digestion
5. Udhana: during the time of jumping, floating - active at the time of death.
The identification of Self with these five pranas along with the organs of action constitute the Pranamaya Kosa.

The next sheath is the Manomaya kosa or Mind sheath which constitues of mind and 5 organs of perception. Mind is the place where we experience emotions and feelings. The organs of perception like (eyes, ears, tongue, nose, touch) serves as the windows for the mind which stimulates the emotions and feelings. The identification of Self with the mind is Manomaya Kosa.

Prostrations to All.

Hari Aum


Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?