Thursday, December 28, 2006


Tattvabodha - 7

Hari Aum

Prostrations to Guru. Prostrations to All.

Titiksha kaa?
What is Titiksha?
Sheethoshna Sukkha Dukkhaadhi Sahishnuthvam
The endurance of heat and cold, happiness and sorrow etc is called Titiksha

Sraddha Kidrishi?
What is Sraddha?
Guru Vedanta Vakyadhishu Vishvaasaha Sraddha.
Faith in the words of the Guru and Vedanta is called Sraddha

Samadhanam Kim?
What is Samadhanam?
Chitta Ekaagratha
Single-pointed mind.

The six disciplines are

We learned about the first three disciplines which are Sama, Dama and Uparama. Sama is inner control of the mind, taking the mind away from the objects of the world. Dama is external control of the mind through the control of Sense organs. Uparama is Strict observance of ones own duty which is the vedantic sadhana of Sravana, Manana and Nidhidhyasana.
Once the mind is controlled both internally and externally, the mind has to be withdrawn completely from the sense objects. It is only through the mind the dualities of Happiness-Sorrow etc are enjoyed. When the mind is controlled and senses are withdrawn from the sense objects, then dualities of happiness or sorrow cannot affect such a seeker. This forbearance of dualities is called Titiksha. Shraddha is having faith in the words of the Guru and Scriptures. The words of the Guru and scriptures are not different. Guru, who always revels in the Ultimate Reality of Brahman, teaches the scriptures to the student through his direct experience of the Self. Though, initially the words of the Guru might seem illogical, faith in the words of the Guru and shasthram is very important. Once the mind is controlled and heard the words of the Guru, the mind should always be focused only on the teaching of the Guru. This is called Samadhanam. Only a calm controlled mind will be able grasp the teaching. Thus the six disciplines starting from Sama.

Mumukshutvam Kim?
What is Mumukshutvam?
Mokshomae Bhooyaath Ithi Ichaa
I should have liberation - such a desire is called mumukshutvam.

Mumukshuthvam is the fourth qualification. This is very important for the seeker because without the desire for liberation there cannot be any liberation. One has to know that he is in bondage only then he will desire for liberation. Therefore Mumukshutvam is the desire to be completely free from all sorrows and sufferings there by stay eternally happy. This eternal happiness can be got only by realizing ones own nature of Self which is what Scriptures also say. If there is no desire to get liberated then the scriptures cannot be of any meaning to such people. A person who has the desire to get liberated is called Mumukshu.

Ethath Saadhanachatushthayam
These are the four-fold qualification.
Tatastattvavivekasya Adhikarino Bavanthi.
Thus after having acquired the four-fold qualification, one becomes the Adhikaari or fit person to enquire into the truth.

These are the four-fold qualifications which a seeker has to practice which will make him fit for enquiring into the Ultimate Reality of Brahman. Only when a seeker is endowed with all these four fold qualifications will he be able to apprehend the Reality very clearly.

Prostrations to All.

Hari Aum


Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?