Wednesday, December 20, 2006


Tattvabodha - 3

Hari Aum

Prostrations to Guru. Prostrations to All.

Saadhanachatushthayasampanna Adhikarinaam MokshasaadhanaBhootham
Tattvavivekaprakaaram vakshyaamaha

Those who follow the four-fold qualification (Saadhachatushthayam), which are the means for liberation, are told about the mode of discrimination.

SaadhanaChatushthayam Kim?
What is SaadhanaChatushthayam?

Nithya Anithya Vasthu Vivekaha
Discrimination between the real and the unreal

Ihamuthra ArthaPhala Bhoga Viragaha
Dispassion to the enjoyment of fruits of one’s own action here and hereafter.

Shamaadhi Shatkasampatthihi
Six discipline starting from Shama

Burning desire for liberation.

The primary goal for each and everyone in the world is happiness only, realizing ones own nature of Self alone can give Permanent Happiness. In the invocation sloka, Shankara mentioned that adhikaari for learning this work, who are Mumukshus and the subject matter is Tattvabodha or Self-Knowledge. There are many benefits of gaining Self Knowledge. When a person gets the Self-Knowledge, all his doubts and questions vanishes, his mind will be very clear of his nature and the nature of the world. Knowledge about the Self is the Ultimate Knowledge as Mundaka Upanishad says,
"brahmavidhyam sarvavidhyaamprathishtaam"
"Brahma vidhya is the Support of all kinds of Knowledge"
Brahman is the Supreme Source of all that is experienced in the world, which is not different from ones own nature of Self, and when one gets the Self-Knowledge he will be satisfied from all thirst of Knowledge. When the person gets the Self-Knowledge, he will be completely satisfied and hence he will always be happy at all points of time. He need not seek anything in the world for the sake of Aananda as the person realizes that happiness is his very nature. When he realizes that he is nothing but the happiness only, there will be no moment when he will not be happy and hence no situation can affect him. He will neither be attracted by anything in the world nor he will be affected by any situation whether it is good or bad. He will always be balanced and see every experience of the world in the same way. The mind of such a person will always revels in the knowledge about the Self and hence such a person is liberated from this vicious circle of Samsaara. Mumkshu is one who desire to get that Self-Knowledge there by get these benefits or who is desiring to get liberated from Samsaara.

After prostrating to his Guru, Shankara starts the text by telling the qualification that the seeker has to be endowed with which he will be able to enquire into the Self and there by realize ones own nature of Self. When a teacher has to take a subject in a class, for the student to be benefited from the teaching he should have some eligibility. Only when he has some qualification he will be able to apprehend clearly of what the teacher is teaching. Here the subject matter is Self-Knowledge and when a qualified student learns from the teacher, he will be able to apprehend clearly of what the Guru is teaching. It doesn’t mean that only those who have these qualifications should learn, but it is important to understand that only those who are endowed with these qualifications will be able to apprehend the Reality better. Therefore seeker has to practice and get qualified to understand the teaching better. Only when the teachings are understood perfectly, the seeker will be able to contemplate on the Reality and there by get liberated. Therefore these four-fold qualifications are the means for the liberation.

What are the qualifications? Shankara gives the four fold qualification required for the seeker to apprehend the teaching of the Guru better, which will help him in realizing ones own nature of Self and there by get liberated from this world. First, Shankara gives what are the four fold qualifications and then explains each of the qualification.

1. Discrimination: Discrimination between the Real and the Unreal Objects
2. Dispassion: Dispassion towards the enjoyment of the results of the actions.
3. Discipline: Six Disciplines which are Shama, Dhama, Uparama, Thithiksha, Shraddha and Samadhaanam
4. Desire: Desire to get liberated.

After mentioning these four-fold qualifications, he explains each and every qualification starting from Discrimination.

Prostrations to All.

Hari Aum


Comments: Post a Comment

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?